Publishers
Publishers who Accept UN-Agented Submissions. a.k.a. Where to Send Your Story
$publishers/yr
  • If you're a first time writer, or if you just haven't found the right agent yet, it can be a little difficult to find publishing houses to submit your stories to. So, I've made it a little easier. The Publishers listed below all accept unagented submissions. I have also included a link to their submission guidelines. So, Happy Hunting! But before you submit, make sure you research the publisher by looking at BOTH their published titles and their submission guidelines. Most publishers have very specific guidelines, so you're wasting everyone's time if you submit a talking dog story to a publisher that specifically asks writers not to submit talking dog stories.

54-RHS-Markets-ChildrensPublishers

Click the link to the right to read an article is by Chrissy Brady.  It lists FIVE publishers that all accept unagented children’s submissions.  But more importantly, she has done all the work for you.  Chrissy lays out each publisher’s guidelines: their style, what they’re looking for and what they specifically don’t want.  She even has a section with pitch suggestions.  You might want to bookmark this article for your archives.  But don’t worry, I’ll  keep the link.

Dawn Publications: www.dawnpub.com

54-Markets-DawnPublications

 

 

Fitzzherny and Whiteside Children’s Books: www.fitzherny.ca

54-Markets-FitzhenryWhiteside

 

 

Scarletta Press: http:// www.scarlettapress.com

publishers children's books rhymeweaver writing for kids picture books submissions

 

 

Flashlight Press: http://www.flashlightpress.com

54-Markets-FlashlightPress

 

 

Immedium: http://www.immedium.com

http://www.immedium.com

$more publishers/yr
  • These publishers usually accept unsolicited and unagented submissions, but always look at the submission guidelines page before submitting.

Albert Whitman & Compamy: www.albertwhitman.com

Editorial Guidelines: About Us: Albert Whitman & Company

Arthur Levine Books:http://arthurlevinebooks.com

http://arthuralevinebooks.com/submission.asp

Blooming Tree Press: www.bloomingtreepress.com  

 http://www.bloomingtreepress.com/resources/submissions.html

Boyds Mills Press: www.boydsmillspress.com

http://www.boydsmillspress.com/writers-and-illustrators-guidelines

Charlesbridge: www.charlesbridge.com

http://www.charlesbridge.com/client/client_pages/submissions.cfm

Chronicle Books: www.chroniclebooks.com

http://www.chroniclebooks.com/our-company/submissions/childrens

Dawn Publications: www.dawnpub.com

http://www.dawnpub.com/submission-guidelines/ 

Dial Books: www.penguingroup.com

http://www.us.penguingroup.com/static/pages/aboutus/pyrg-subguides.html

Dutton: www.penguingroup.com

http://www.us.penguingroup.com/static/pages/aboutus/pyrg-subguides.html

Flashlight Press: www.flashlight.com

http://www.flashlightpress.com/index.html

Harcourt: www.hmhbooks.com

http://www.hmhbooks.com/hmh/site/hmhbooks/home/faq

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt: www.hmbooks.com

http://www.hmhbooks.com/hmh/site/hmhbooks/home/faq

holidayhead

 

http://www.holidayhouse.com/holiday_house.php#manuscripts

hmhheader

 

 


http://www.houghtonmifflinbooks.com/faq/submission.html#child

lee&lowheader

 

 

 

http://www.leeandlow.com/p/wguide.mhtml 

Peachtree Publishing

http://peachtree-online.com/index.php/resources/submission-guidelines/manuscript-guidelines.html

 Philomel: www.Penguingroup.com

http://www.us.penguingroup.com/static/pages/aboutus/pyrg-subguides.html

Putnam: www.penguingroup.com

http://www.us.penguingroup.com/static/pages/aboutus/pyrg-subguides.html

Pineapple Press: www.pineapplepress.com

http://www.pineapplepress.com/manuscripts.html

Sky Pony Press: www.skyponypress.com

 http://www.skyponypress.com/guidelines/

Sterling Publishing: www.sterlingpublishing.com

http://www.sterlingpublishing.com/sterling/author-guidelines

Sylvan Dell Publishing: www.sylvandellpublishing.com

http://www.sylvandellpublishing.com/Submissions.htm

Tanglewood Press: www.tanglewoodpress.com

http://www.tanglewoodbooks.com/submissions.html

RhymeWeaver.com